CSS Exam General Information

Introduction to CSS exam

CSS stands for Central Superior Service. This exam is taken by FPSC (Federal Public Service Commission) and is established under its own law as a requirement of the Constitution of Pakistan in order to recruit the candidate directly to BPS-17 (Basic Pay Scale 17). This Gazetted Post is under Federal Government with the following services:

  1. Commerce & Trade Group
  2. Foreign Service of Pakistan
  3. Information Services of Pakistan
  4. Inland Revenue Service of Pakistan
  5. Military Lands & Cantonment Group
  6. Office Management and Secretariat Group
  7. Pakistan Administrative Service
  8. Pakistan Audit and Accounts Service
  9. Pakistan Customs Services
  10. Police Service of Pakistan
  11. Postal Group
  12. Railways (Commercial & Transport) Group

Places of Interview

Islamabad, Karachi, Lahore, Peshawar & Quetta

Places where CSS exam is taken

  • Abbotabad
  • Bahawalpur
  • D.I Khan
  • Dera Ghazi Khan
  • Faisalabad
  • Gilgit
  • Gujranwala
  • Hyderabad
  • Islamabad
  • Karachi
  • Khuzdar
  • Lahore
  • Larkana
  • Multan
  • Muzaffarabad
  • Okara
  • Peshawar
  • Quetta
  • Rawalpindi
  • Sargodha
  • Sialkot
  • Skardu
  • Sakkar

Basic Requirements for CSS exam

  • The four parts of the CSS exam are written, medical, psychological test, and viva voce.
  • The written test consists of six compulsory subjects and six optional subjects (that can be selected from the list)
  • To qualify for the compulsory subjects, the minimum marks required are 40% but for optional subjects, the required marks are 33%.
  • To appear on other parts of the test i.e., medical, psychological test, and viva voce, the candidate must qualify for the written test.
  • There is no option to appear in the CSS exam more than three times.
  • The age of the applicant must not be less than 21 years and more than 30 years. The age is calculated on 31st December of the year of applying.

Age relaxation criteria for CSS exam of 2 years (up to 32 years) is so adjusted according to these requirements.

  • The disabled candidates i.e., physically impaired, deaf, dumb, and blind, must present a disabled certificate from the competent authority of the provincial and federal governments.
  • The scheduled castes and tribes and Buddhist community got relaxation after having a provision letter issued by the district magistrate, political agent, and DCO.
  • Already serving candidates to same government departments from 2 years, get age relaxation on the provision of DPC (Departmental Permission Certificate)
  • This relaxation is not for employees from autonomous bodies, banks, WAPDA, and regulatory authorities.
  • Candidates will provide a certificate issued by the district magistrate, political agent, and DCO if belongs to recognized tribes, and are permanent residents of the tribes of Baluchistan, D.I Khan, and Peshawar Divisions (including Dir, Swat, Chitral, and Amb). Former excluded (Baluch) area forming part of Dera Ghazi Khan and Rajanpur districts. Former tribal areas of Mardan and Hazara divisions, upper Tanawal area of Hazara division.
  • Candidates will provide certificates issued by Kashmir Affairs Division if belong to Azad Kashmir Territory.
  • Candidates will provide certificates issued by the district magistrate, political agent, and DCO if belong to the Gilgit Baltistan areas of Gilgit, Diamir, Baltistan, Ghizar, and Ghanche.

Note: if a student is not satisfied with the paper marking, then he/she can apply for rechecking of paper in PKR 500/paper.